Two weeks away

and the mad panic is on to get all my gear together!  I have bits and pieces everywhere but now I need to put it all together.  For the past couple of days, I’ve been putting together my meals.  I need to have a minimum of 2000 calories per day, or 7 breakfasts, 7 dinners and fuel during the run as well as recovery.  So far I have my dinners sorted out and I just put together 5 breakfasts.  I’m weighing everything, writing down the calories, carbs and fats to make sure there’s some nutritional balance.  During the day, I’m going to be taking nuts, seeds, dried fruits (hence the freeze dried grapes which are absolutely yummy!) as well as jerky and baby bel cheese … yup, I get to have cheese! LOL  This was one really good tidbit I learned at my training camp … babybel cheese is wrapped in wax and that preserves the cheese in the desert!

Here’s a picture of my daily menu

20170319_203442

 

This is still a work in progress and I’ll post the final menu plan later.

I’m also taking the food out of it’s original packaging and vacuum sealing it to cut down on the weight.  One package of freeze dried meal was about 110g and when I put it in a vacuum sealed bag, it was only 75g … that’s saved weight that I can use for something else like my battery pack which unfortunately is quiet heavy!

This is most of the gear that I have to pack in that small little pack in the lower left hand corner!

20170319_203401

Weighing, measuring and repackaging the food … love my vacuum sealer!

20170319_204302

And the final product … easier to fit these smaller packets in my bag😀

20170319_214415

3 thoughts on “Two weeks away”

  1. Great post Baldish – so neat to see your detailed preparations. (I didn’t see poutine on the menu, maybe an oversight lol 🙂 :).) Best of luck in Morocco!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing Baldish! I am learning as you pack! You have worked so hard for this! Can’t wait to cheer you from afar…lots of brain waves your way! Oh, brand of your vacuum packing machine? Courage and have loads of fun!

    Like

Leave a comment